skip navigation
Wcdc logo 2014  2

Republished from the American University website.

American University Qualifies 3 Wrestlers for the NCAA's at the EIWA Tournament

03/05/2017, 9:00am EST
By Admin

Three More Wrestlers May Receive At Large Bids

Republished from the American University website.

LEWISBURG, PA. — Three members of the American University wrestling team received automatic qualifiers to the NCAA Tournament in St. Louis in Mid-March after placing the 2017 EIWA Championships over the weekend at Bucknell.

Josh Terao (125), Jason Grimes (184) and Jeric Kasunic (197) will represent the Eagles with the hopes that Esteban Gomez-Rivera (133), Michael Sprague (149) and Tom Page (157) will garner an at-large bid. The NCAA bracket will be announced on Wednesday.

As a team, American finished seventh with 70 points. Cornell won its 11th consecutive championship with 163 points. Lehigh, Princeton, Army, Navy and Bucknell finished ahead of the Eagles.

Terao finished second, falling to top-seed Darian Cruz 5-4. Terao tied the contest with 20 seconds left with an escape, but Cruz gained a point with riding time.

Grimes took a 3-1 decision in sudden-victory over Alex DeCiantis of Drexel for fifth-place. Both competitors gained points from escapes and Grimes put away DeCiantis with a takedown at 21 seconds of the extra period.

Kasunic finished fourth, falling to Cornell's Ben Honis in overtime, 3-1. Kasunic forced the extra frame with an escape at 1:56 of the third period. 

In the fifth-place match, Sprague forced overtime and came away in the second OT period with an escape at 30 seconds.

Page avenged his Round of 16 loss to Tristan Rifanburg from Binghamton, winning by major decision 13-2. Page had a pair of nearfalls in the first periods and then added three more points in the second to end the match in five minutes. 

American will next compete at the 2017 NCAA Tournament at the Scottrade Center in St. Louis, Missouri from March 16-18. Check for the official NCAA Brackets on Wedneday. 

125: Darian Cruz (Lehigh) over Josh Terao, Dec. 5-4 (1st Place)
149: Michael Sprague over Jonathan Furnas (Cornell), Dec. 4-3 (5th Place)
157: Tom Page over Tristan Rifanburg (Binghamton), Maj. Dec. 13-2 (7th Place)
184: Jason Grimes over Alex DeCiantis (Drexel), Dec. 3-1 SV (5th Place)
197: Ben Honis (Cornell) over Jeric Kasunic, Dec. 3-1 SV (3rd Place)

Tag(s): News